Engineer E.P. | Now Streaming & Pre-order Available

EngineerI’m very happy to announce the release of the Engineer E.P. via the Swedish Beläten label on September 30, 2015. This will be L’Avenir’s second release for Beläten and the follow up to the recent album Étolies for Cold Beats Records earlier this year. Engineer will clock in at 30 minutes and feature 6 new tracks recorded between April and August 2015. Preorders are now being taken over at the Beläten web shop. You can also now listen to a preview stream of the EP in it’s entirety at their Soundcloud.

1. Rise & Fall
2. Louder Than Words
3. Close Your Eyes (Remix)
4. New Day
5. Phantom
6. Armco


Étoiles – OUT NOW!

Gate-Sleeve11430129_1217227855031438_4514636042025728646_nI’m very excited to announce Étoiles, the follow up album to “The Wait”, is now available via Cold Beats Records. This is a vinyl & digital only release and limited to 300 copies on beautiful black and white marbled wax. The vinyl features 8 new tracks plus 3 bonus tracks with the digital download.
Order your copy here.

L’Avenir – Étoiles
– Dénégation
– Fallow Land
– Until Then
– The Death Window
– Étoiles
– Lever du Soleil
– Ciel Noir
– Seven Times

Bonus Tracks:
– Enlightened
– 1958
– Dead Flowers


“The Wait” Limited White Vinyl Now Available

The Wait10151481_10203529283621369_1180124898_nThe Wait is now available on Barcelona’s Cold Beats Records on limited edition white vinyl. A few CD copies also remain and both include a digital download of the album. The self-titled follow up album [actually recorded before “The Wait”] is also available through the Post Avantgarde label Beläten on cassette and digital formats. See the post below for more info.

Order here: Cold Beats Records

What people are saying about “The Wait”:

L’Avenir is the new name for the Synth Wave scene with his moody lyrics and heartfelt melodies. From start to finish L’Avenir has created dark and compelling tracks, works of eclipsed electronics with a remolded New Wave slant.”
– Igloo Magazine

“Sounds Fantastic!!”
– Sean McBride (Martial Canterel)

“A very fine and deep album. Upon first listen one of my favorite albums from last year by John Maus came to mind.”
– The Suicide of Western Culture

“An album that’s exquisitely sequenced, with opener “Umbra” setting the invitingly permafrost tone.”
– Baltimore City Paper


New/old release available now at Beläten

L-avenir-tapeA long time coming but I’m very excited to announce the eponymously titled L’Avenir album is now available for pre-ordering (shipping Feb 28th) at Beläten. Digital downloads are available now. This album was recorded about six-eight months before “The Wait” so sonically, it marks an early stage of development in the progression of the L’Avenir sound.

From Beläten:
“Jason Sloan as a long history making ambient soundscapes, which is evident in L’Avenir’s dreamy, cinematic minimal synth. But through the hazy din of reverb-drenched atmospheres, melancholy pop gems appear. Simultaneously the preface and the follow up to last years The Wait (recorded before, released after), this cassette every bit as engaging. Song after song drip like a slow rain on empty city streets, the scent of wet asphalt in the air. L’Avenir’s music is heart-achingly beautiful and overpowering in it’s grandeur, yet somehow comforting and warm.

Physcial (ltd edition cassette)
Download digital


Summer 2013 Announcements

Be sure to check out the excellent new limited edition, double CD compilation by The Scrap Mag which includes a track by L’Avenir. The release is packaged in a beautiful oversized 7″ stiff cardboard gatefold sleeve. To order please visit The Scrap Mag’s online store.

L’Avenir will be making its public debut on August 29, 2013 supporting LA’s Soft Metals at the Metro Gallery in Baltimore.



935299_642175512475892_446087885_nHappy to announce that L’Avenir will be included on the upcoming Scrap Mag TSM0004 CD compilation out next month. TSM0004 brings together some of the best new synth and minimal wave music without forgetting the musical roots of the past.

More information about this CD as it’s made available.

Info here: The Scrap Mag



Front_SleeveIt’s been a busy year with a lot of projects! A good chunk of 2012 was spent in the studio working on L’Avenir’s debut album. I am now pleased to announce its completion and am looking forward to getting it released sometime in 2013. If you’re familiar with the numerous instrumental ambient albums I’ve released under my own name for the last decade and a half, this new side project is a bit different. It also features vocals for the first time in my work. I grew up a huge fan of synthpop and darker 80’s electronic music ala Fad Gadget, Solid Space, DepecheD.A.F. and the whole Wax Trax scene in Chicago… so in a way, taking a little diversion down this path makes sense to me. In the meantime, feel free to send along comments or questions through the contact page.

More soon… hang tight!